Welcome All Wonders


Welcome All Wonders


A Christmas Cantata by David Bednall

World Premiere Recording

Released August 2013

Choir of The Queen's College, Oxford
Simon Desbruslais trumpet
Olivia Clarke & Paul Manley organ
Owen Rees

Add To Cart

Welcome all Wonders: A Christmas Cantata (by Queen's alumnus and former Organ Scholar, David Bednall) is a large-scale work for choir, organ, and trumpet spanning 15 movements. It celebrates the Christmas story through an imaginative selection and juxtaposition of poetry and liturgical texts, and provides a multifaceted telling of the familiar narrative. The celebratory aspects of Christmas are tainted by darker themes that are inherent to the story but are easily overlooked, culminating in an enlightened and engaging work that explores the Christmas story in a profound manner.

Track List

01. Prelude
02. Alleluia
03. A virgin shall conceive
04. Ye heavens! From high the dewy nectar pour
05. Today is the beginning of our salvation
06. Oh! little blades of grass
07. Journey to Bethlehem
08. I saw a stable
09. Shepherds, rejoice!
10. See how from far, upon the eastern road
11. Tribus miraculus ornatum
12.The Slaughter of the Innocents
13. But peaceful was the night
14. Ave maris stella
15. In the beginning